

COMMISSION SEVENTEENTH REGULAR SESSION

Electronic Meeting 8 – 15 December 2020

LIST OF OBSERVERS

WCPFC17-2020-06_rev1 9 December 2020

Prepared by the Secretariat

- 1. This paper provides for the information of the Commission the updated list of accredited observers to the Commission meeting as approved in accordance with Rule 36 of the Commission's Rules of Procedures.
- 2. The observers may be organized into the following categories:

a) State observers

- Bahamas*
- Brunei Darussalam
- Mexico

b) Inter-Governmental Organisations:

- African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP)
- Agreement for the Conservation of Albatross and Petrels (ACAP)
- Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES)
- Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Living Marine Resources (CCAMLR)
- Commission for the Conservation of Southern Bluefin Tuna (CCSBT)
- Convention of Migratory Species (CMS)
- Indian Ocean Tuna Commission (IOTC)
- Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC)
- International Scientific Committee for Tuna and Tuna-like Species in the North Pacific Ocean (ISC)
- North Pacific Fisheries Commission (NPFC)

- Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA)
- Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat (PIFS)
- Parties to the Nauru Agreement (PNA)
- Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC)
- Secretariat of the Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP)
- Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations (FAO)
- University of the South Pacific
- The World Bank

c) Non-Governmental Organisations

- American Albacore Fishing Association (AAFA)
- American Tunaboat Association (ATA)
- Association for Professional Observers*
- Australian National Centre for Ocean Resources and Security (ANCORS)
- Birdlife International
- Blue Ocean Institute
- Center for the Blue Economy (CEB)
- Conservation International (CI)
- Earth Island Institute
- Environmental Defense Fund (EDF)
- Environment Hawaii
- Global Ghost Gear Initiative (GGGI)
- Global Tuna Alliance
- Greenpeace
- Human Rights at Sea*
- International Environmental Law Project
- International Pole and Line Foundation (IPNLF)
- International Seafood Sustainability Foundation (ISSF)
- Korean Federation for Environmental Movement (KFEM)*
- Marine Stewardship Council
- Ocean Friends Against Driftnets (OFAD)
- Organisation for the Promotion of Responsible Tuna Fisheries
- Organization for Regional and Inter-regional Studies (ORIS)
- Pacific Islands Tuna Industry Association
- Pacific Albacore Trollers Association International (PATAI)
- Pew Charitable Trust
- Seafood Legacy
- Southeast Asian Fisheries Development Center (SEAFDEC)
- Sustainable Fisheries Partnership (SFP) Foundation
- The Nature Conservancy (TNC)

- The Ocean Foundation
- World Tuna Purse Seine Organisation (WTPO)
- World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF)

- 3. In accordance with Rule 36 of the Rules of Procedure, the following cease to be accredited observers to the meetings of the Commission:
 - a) State observers
 - Belize
 - Russian Federation
 - Senegal
 - St. Kitts and Nevis
 - b) Non-Governmental Organisations
 - American Fishermen's Research Foundation
 - Constitution of the Centre for Environmental Law and Community Rights Inc.
 - David and Lucile Packard Foundation
 - Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
 - Hawaii Longline Association
 - International Game Fishing Association
 - International Sustainability Unit of the UK (ISU)
 - International Union for the Conservation of Nature
 - Korea Institute of Ocean Science Technology
 - Masyarakat dan Perkanan Indonesia (MDPI)
 - Mobile Satellite Users Association
 - Neighbor Organization Nepal (NEO-Nepal)
 - New Zealand High Seas Fisheries Group
 - Oceania
 - Pacific International Maritime Law Association
 - Sea Turtle Restoration Project
 - Shark Advocates International
 - Tautai-O-Samoa Longline & Fishing Association
 - The Humane Society
 - US-Japan Research Institute (USJI)

Recommendation

4. WCPFC17 is invited to note this paper.

^{*}approved observers added since WCPFC16