

## **COMMISSION FIFTEENTH REGULAR SESSION** Honolulu, Hawaii, USA 10 – 14 December 2018

## STATUS OF THE CONVENTION

WCPFC15-2018-05 4 December 2018

Paper prepared by the Depositary, New Zealand

## Paper prepared by the Depositary, New Zealand

In its capacity as depositary of the Convention on the Conservation and Management of Highly Migratory Fish Stocks in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean, the Government of New Zealand advises that since its last report to the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission at the fourteenth regular session of the Commission in December 2017, New Zealand has not received notification of any instruments of ratification or accession to the Convention.

A table summarising the status of the Convention as at 27 November 2018 is annexed to this statement.

Annex 1: Convention on the Conservation and Management of Highly Migratory Fish Stocks in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean

COUNTRY	SIGNATURE	RATIFICATION, ACCESSION (A)	ENTRY INTO FORCE
Australia	30/10/2000	22/09/2003	19/06/2004
Canada	02/08/2001	01/11/2005	01/12/2005
China <sup>1</sup>		02/11/2004 (A)	02/12/2004
Cook Islands	05/09/2000	01/10/2003	19/06/2004
European Union <sup>2</sup>		20/12/2004 (A)	19/01/2005
Federated States of Micronesia	05/09/2000	20/12/2002	19/06/2004
Fiji Islands	05/09/2000	13/03/2001	19/06/2004
France (extends to French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna) <sup>3</sup>		12/05/2005 (A)	11/06/2005
Indonesia	31/08/2001	30/10/2013	29/11/2013
Japan		08/07/2005 (A)	07/08/2005
Republic of Kiribati		09/06/2003 (A)	19/06/2004

Status of the Convention, as at 27 November 2018

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Upon accession, the Government of the People's Republic of China advised that the Convention shall apply to the Macao Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China but not to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China but not to the People's Republic of China.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> On 28 January 2010, the General Secretariat of the Council of the European Union advised that, as from 1 December 2009, the European Community has been replaced and succeeded by the European Union in respect of the Convention.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> On 12 May 2005, the Government of France advised that, in accordance with Article 43, French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna, are authorised by the Government of France to participate in the Commission and its subsidiary bodies.

Republic of Korea		26/10/2004 (A)	25/11/2004
Republic of the Marshall Islands	05/09/2000	23/04/2001	19/06/2004
Republic of Nauru	05/09/2000	13/08/2003	19/06/2004
New Zealand (extends to Tokelau) <sup>4</sup>	05/09/2000	19/12/2003	19/06/2004
Niue	30/10/2000	17/12/2003	19/06/2004
Republic of Palau	05/09/2000	02/11/2005	2/12/2005
Independent State of Papua New Guinea	17/01/2001	17/10/2001	19/06/2004
Republic of the Philippines	05/09/2000	17/06/2005	17/07/2005
Independent State of Samoa	05/09/2000	09/02/2001	19/06/2004
Solomon Islands	23/04/2001	09/06/2003	19/06/2004
Kingdom of Tonga	23/04/2001	09/06/2003	19/06/2004
Tuvalu	05/09/2000	13/04/2004	19/06/2004
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (for Pitcairn,			
Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands)			
United States of America <sup>5</sup>	05/09/2000	27/06/2007	27/07/2007
Republic of Vanuatu	05/09/2004	06/10/2005	05/11/2005

On 5 September 2000, a representative of Chinese Taipei signed an Arrangement for the Participation of Fishing Entities. On 2 November 2004, in accordance with that Arrangement, Chinese Taipei advised the Depositary that it had fulfilled its domestic requirements and that it agreed to be bound by the regime established by the Convention in accordance with its Article 9(2) and to participate as a Member in the Commission for the Conservation and Management of Highly Migratory Fish Stocks in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> On 19 December 2003, the Government of New Zealand advised that, in accordance with Article 43, Tokelau is authorised by the Government of New Zealand to participate in the Commission and its subsidiary bodies.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> Upon ratification, the Government of the United States of America advised that, in accordance with Article 43, American Samoa, Guam and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands are authorised by the Government of United States of America to participate in the Commission and its subsidiary bodies.