

SIXTH REGULAR SESSION Papeete, Tahiti, French Polynesia 7-11 December 2009

STATUS OF THE CONVENTION ON THE CONSERVATION AND MANAGEMENT OF HIGHLY MIGRATORY FISH STOCKS IN THE WESTERN AND CENTRAL PACIFIC OCEAN

WCPFC6-2009/07 7th November 2009

Paper prepared by the Depositary, New Zealand

1. In its capacity as depositary of the Convention on the Conservation and Management of Highly Migratory Fish Stocks in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean, the Government of New Zealand advises that since its last report to the Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission at the Fifth annual meeting of the Commission, it has not received notification of any instruments of ratification or accession to the Convention.

2. A table summarising the status of the Convention as of 7 November 2009 is annexed to this statement.

Annex

Convention on the Conservation and Management of Highly Migratory Fish Stocks in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean

COUNTRY	SIGNATURE	RATIFICATION,	ENTRY INTO
		ACCESSION (A)	FORCE
Australia	30/10/2000	22/09/2003	19/06/2004
Canada	02/08/2001	01/11/2005	01/12/2005
China [*]		02/11/2004 (A)	02/12/2004
Cook Islands	05/09/2000	01/10/2003	19/06/2004
European Community		20/12/2004 (A)	20/01/2005
Federated States of Micronesia	05/09/2000	20/12/2003	19/06/2004
Fiji Islands	05/09/2000	13/03/2001	19/06/2004
France (extends to French		12/05/2005 (A)	12/06/2005
Polynesia, New Caledonia and			
Wallis and Futuna)***			
Indonesia	31/08/2001		
Japan		08/07/2005 (A)	08/08/2005
Republic of Kiribati		09/06/2003 (A)	19/06/2004
Republic of Korea	05/09/2000	26/10/2004 (A)	26/11/2004
Republic of the Marshall Islands	05/09/2000	26/04/2001	19/06/2004
Republic of Nauru	05/09/2000	26/08/2003	19/06/2004
New Zealand (extends to	05/09/2000	19/12/2003	19/06/2004
Tokelau) ^{**}			
Niue	05/09/2000	17/12/2003	19/06/2004
Republic of Palau	17/10/2001	02/11/2005	02/12/2005
Independent State of Papua New	05/09/200	17/10/2001	19/06/2004
Guinea			
Republic of the Philippines	05/09/2000	17/06/2005	17/07/2005
Independent State of Samoa	23/04/2001	09/02/2001	19/06/2004
Solomon Islands	05/09/2001	09/06/2003	19/06/2004
Kingdom of Tonga	23/04/2001	13/10/2003	19/06/2004
Tuvalu	05/09/2000	13/04/2004	19/06/2004

Status of the Convention (as at 7th November 2009)

^{*} Upon accession, the Government of the People's Republic of China advised that the Convention shall apply to the Macao Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China but not to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China prior to further notice by the Government of the People's Republic of China.

^{**} On 19 December 2003 the Government of New Zealand advised that, in accordance with Article 43, Tokelau is authorised by the Government of New Zealand to participate in the Commission and its subsidiary bodies.

^{***} On 12 May 2005, the Government of France advised that, in accordance with Article 43, French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna, are authorised by the Government of France to participate in the Commission and its subsidiary bodies.

United Kingdom of Great Britain			
and Northern Ireland (for			
Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and			
Oeno Islands)			
United States of America	05/09/2000	27/06/2007	27/07/2007
(extends to American Samoa,			
Guam and the Commonwealth of			
the Northern Mariana Islands)****			
Republic of Vanuatu	23/04/2001	06/10/2005	06/11/2005

On 5 September 2000 a representative of Chinese Taipei signed an Arrangement for the Participation of Fishing Entities. On 2 November 2004, in accordance with that Arrangement, Chinese Taipei advised the Depositary that it had fulfilled its domestic requirements and that it agreed to be bound by the regime established by the Convention in accordance with its Article 9(2) and to participate as a Member in the Commission for the Conservation and Management of Highly Migratory Fish Stocks in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean.

^{****} On 27 June 2007, the Government of the United States of America advised that, in accordance with Article 43, American Samoa, Guam and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, are authorized by the Government of the United States of America to participate in the Commission and its subsidiary bodies.