FIRST MEETING OF THE

TECHNICAL AND COMPLIANCE COMMITTEE

OF THE COMMISSION FOR THE CONSERVATION AND MANAGEMENT OF HIGHLY MIGRATORY FISH STOCKS IN THE WESTERN AND CENTRAL PACIFIC OCEAN, POHNPEI, FEDERATED STATES OF MICRONESIA,

5-9 DECEMBER 2005

WCPFC/TCC1/07 18th November 2005

STATUS OF THE CONVENTION ON THE CONSERVATION AND MANAGEMENT OF HIGHLY MIGRATORY FISH STOCKS IN THE WESTERN AND CENTRAL PACIFIC OCEAN

- 1. In its capacity as depositary of the Convention on the Conservation and Management of Highly Migratory Fish Stocks in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean, the Government of New Zealand advises that since the Inaugural Session of the Commission 8-9 December 2004 it has received the following communications:
 - The European Community deposited an Instrument of Accession on 20th December 2004:
 - The Government of the Republic of France deposited an Instrument of Accession, with application to French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna, on 12th May 2005:
 - The Government of the Philippines deposited an Instrument of Ratification on 17th June 2005; and
 - The Government of Japan deposited an Instrument of Accession on 8th July 2005; and
 - The Government of Vanuatu deposited an Instrument of Ratification on 6th October 2005; and
 - The Government of Canada deposited its Instrument of Ratification on 1st November 2005, and
 - The Government of the Republic of Palau deposited its Instrument of Ratification on 2nd November, 2005.
- 2. A table summarising the status of the Convention as of November 18^{th} 2005 is annexed to this statement.

Convention on the Conservation and Management of Highly Migratory Fish Stocks in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean

Status of the Convention (as at 18th November 2005)

COUNTRY	SIGNATURE	RATIFICATION, ACCESSION (A)
Australia	30/10/2000	22/09/2003
Canada	02/08/2001	1/11/2005
China*		02/11/2004 (A)
Cook Islands	05/09/2000	01/10/2003
European Community		20/12/2004 (A)
Federated States of Micronesia	05/09/2000	20/12/2002
Fiji Islands	05/09/2000	13/03/2001
France (extends to French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna) ***		12/052005 (A)
Indonesia	31/08/2001	
Japan		08/07/2005 (A)
Republic of Kiribati		09/06/2003 (A)
Republic of Korea		26/10/2004 (A)
Republic of the Marshall Islands	05/09/2000	23/04/2001
Republic of Nauru	18/08/2001	26/08/2003
New Zealand (extends to Tokelau)**	05/09/2000	19/12/2003
Niue	30/10/2000	17/12/2003
Republic of Palau	05/09/2000	02/11/2005
Independent State of Papua New Guinea	17/01/2001	17/10/2001
Republic of the Philippines	05/09/2000	17/06/2005
Independent State of Samoa	05/09/2000	09/02/2001
Solomon Islands	23/04/2001	09/06/2003
Kingdom of Tonga	23/04/2001	13/10/2003
Tuvalu	05/09/2000	13/04/2004
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (for Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands)		
United States of America	05/09/2000	
Republic of Vanuatu	05/09/2000	06/10/2005

On 5 September 2000 a representative of Chinese Taipei signed an Arrangement for the Participation of Fishing Entities. On 2 November 2004, in accordance with that Arrangement, Chinese Taipei advised the Depositary that it had fulfilled its domestic requirements and that it agreed to be bound by the regime established by the Convention in accordance with its Article 9(2) and to participate as a Member in the Commission for the Conservation and Management of Highly Migratory Fish Stocks in the Western and Central Pacific Ocean.

^{*} Upon accession, the Government of the People's Republic of China advised that the Convention shall apply to the Macao Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China but not to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China prior to further notice by the Government of the People's Republic of China.

^{**} On 19 December 2003 the Government of New Zealand advised that, in accordance with Article 43, Tokelau is authorised by the Government of New Zealand to participate in the Commission and its subsidiary bodies.

^{***} On 12 May 2005, the Government of France advised that, in accordance with Article 43, French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna, are authorised by the Government of France to participate in the Commission and its subsidiary bodies.