## Visa

In principle, any foreign visitor wishing to enter the Republic of Korea must have a valid passport and obtain a Korean visa before arrival. Citizens of 109 countries who want to visit Korea a temporarily, however, may enter without a visa according to visa exemption agreements, or in accordance with principles of reciprocity or national interest,

## Those that fall in the following categories will be allowed to enter Korea without a visa.

- · Countries under visa waiver agreements
- Frequent visitors
- Japanese tourists
- · Those with special entry arrangements for the Jeju island
- APEC Business Travel Card holders
- Designated visa-free entry
- · Transit tourists bound for another country
- · Europe bound Chinese transit tourists
- · Re-entry Permit holders

## Designated visa-free entry

- Considering international convention, mutuality doctrine, national profit and other such factors, certain countries are granted visa-free entry permissions. (49 countries as of November, 2005)
- Nationals of the following countries are allowed up to 30 days of visa-free sojourn for tourism or visitation
   Exceptions: Canada is allowed up to 6 months, and Australia, Hong Kong, Slovenia, and Japan are allowed up to 90 days.
- Countries that are granted visa-free entry for diplomatic, government official, and general passport holders (47 countries)

Continent	Countries
Asia	Macau, Brunei, Saudi Arabia, Arab Emirates, Yemen, Oman, Japan (90 days), Qatar, Taiwan, Hong Kong (90 days), Kuwait
North America	United States, Canada (6 months)
South America	Guyana, Guatemala, Venezuela, Argentina, Ecuador, Honduras, Uruguay, Paraguay
Europe	Monaco, Vatican, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Cyprus, San Marino, Serbia-Montenegro, Slovenia (90 days), Andorra, Croatia
Oceania	Guam, Nauru, New Caledonia, Micronesia, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Kiribati, Fiji, Australia (90 days), Marshall Islands, Palau
Africa	South Africa, Seychelles, Mauritius, Swaziland, Egypt

· Countries that are granted visa-free entry for diplomatic and government official passport holders (2 countries)

Continent	Countries
Asia	Indonesia, Lebanon